ZHH wins a favorable first instance judgement for New Qinyuan in disputes over copyright infringement with Liu Chonghua before Chongqing No. 5 Intermediate People's Court

Date:2019/07/02 Views:2805

In September 2016, Liu Chonghua, Legal Representative and Chairman of the Board of Directors of Chongqing Huashengyuan Food Co., Ltd., filed series lawsuits to Chongqing No. 5 Intermediate People's Court against Chongqing New Qinyuan Bakery Co., Ltd. (“New Qinyuan”) and Chongqing Qinyuan Catering Management Co., Ltd. (“Qinyuan Catering”), both being subsidiaries of John Swire & Sons (H.K.) Ltd., for copyright infringement with respect to their cake art works, demanding that New Qinyuan and Qinyuan Catering pay considerable compensation and make a public apology on CCTV and the website https://www.qq.com/.

 

Appointed as the agent ad litem of New Qinyuan, ZHH helped win the case in the first instance (on March 28, 2017 and June 2, 2017), where Chongqing No. 5 Intermediate People's Court dismissed Liu Chonghua's claims and supported our statement of defense. As there were few disputes over the protection of copyrights on decorative cakes as art works involved in current judicial practices, ZHH's intellectual property team conducted an in-depth study of related issues in decorative cake art works, worked closely with New Qinyuan's baking technology experts, and provided an explicit, in-depth and professional analysis of the core technical issues in this case and the mains points concerning the judges, all of which were supported by the court.

 

This case was about a dispute over the copyright on the appearance design of decorative cakes between two local influential old baking enterprises in Chongqing. ZHH's team won high recognition and positive evaluation from the client based on its solid legal foundation, serious and responsible working attitude, high-quality legal services, and professionalism and competence manifested in its bilingual (Chinese and English) working language.

 

This project was led by Partner ZHENG Peng and handled by Chief Attorney LU Lu.

中豪代理新沁园和刘崇华著作权侵权系列案件在重庆市第五中级人民法院获得一审胜诉

时间:2019/07/02 阅读:702

2016年9月,重庆华生园食品股份有限公司法定代表人、董事长刘崇华向重庆市第五中级人民法院提起针对香港太古食品集团旗下重庆新沁园食品有限公司、重庆沁园餐饮管理有限公司(以下简称新沁园公司、沁园餐饮公司)的蛋糕美术作品著作权侵权诉讼系列案件,要求新沁园公司及沁园餐饮公司支付巨额赔偿金并在央视、腾讯网络公开道歉。

 

中豪作为新沁园公司的委托律师,在本案一审中获得胜诉(判决时间:2017年3月28日及2017年6月2日),重庆市第五中级人民法院驳回了刘崇华的诉讼请求,支持了我方答辩意见。由于裱花蛋糕产品作为美术作品进行著作权保护的相关争议在目前司法实践中涉及较少,中豪知产团队对裱花蛋糕美术作品领域相关问题进行深入研究,与新沁园公司的烘焙技术专家紧密合作,就本案核心技术问题以及法官关注的主要争议点提供了清晰、深入而专业的分析意见,全部得到了法院的支持。

 

本案是重庆市本地两家极具影响力的老牌烘焙企业针对裱花类蛋糕造型设计著作权发生的争议纠纷,中豪团队扎实的法律功底、认真负责的工作态度、高质量的法律服务、中英文双语工作语言的专业水准和能力赢得了客户的高度肯定和积极评价。

 

本项目的牵头合伙人为郑鹏律师,主办律师为卢露律师。