ZHH wins an arbitration award for Chongqing Yeru in a share transfer dispute with Gaorui TV, etc. before Chongqing Arbitration Commission

Date:2019/07/02 Views:1048

Chongqing Yeru Private Equity Investment Fund Management Co., Ltd. (“Chongqing Yeru”) signed the Share Purchase Agreement with Gao Zhiping, Gao Zhiyin, Zhang Jianfen, Zhejiang Chuangyi Technology Co., Ltd., Zhejiang Chuangjia Electronic Co., Ltd. and Gaorui TV, whereby if Gaorui TV failed to be invested by Jingda before August 31, 2018, Chongqing Yeru shall be entitled to request Gao Zhiping, the actual controller of Gaorui TV, to repurchase shares, and Gao Zhiyin, Zhang Jianfen and Zhejiang Chuangyi Technology Co., Ltd. shall be jointly and severally liable for Gao Zhiping's repurchase obligation. As Gaorui TV failed to be invested by Jingda before the agreed deadline and Gao Zhiping and others refused to fulfill the repurchase obligation, Chongqing Yeru filed an application to Chongqing Arbitration Commission for arbitration, claiming that Gao Zhiping pay the share repurchase price of RMB 372 million and that Gao Zhiyin, Zhang Jianfen and Zhejiang Chuangyi Technology Co., Ltd. be held jointly and severally liable.

 

The Share Purchase Agreement involved in this case is a common business model and transaction arrangement in PE investment, or a VAM Agreement whereby Gao Zhiping would purchase some of Gaorui TV's shares held by Chongqing Yeru under certain circumstances. Such agreement is a risk prevention measure for protecting the rights and interests of investors in equity investment. It is also commonly known as the actual controller's repurchase clause. As one of the lawyers appointed by Chongqing Yeru, Qing Miao helped Chongqing Yeru win this case at Chongqing Arbitration Commission based on her rich litigation and non-litigation experience, rigorous thinking of representation and sharp debating points in PE. All of Chongqing Yeru's claims were supported by Chongqing Arbitration Commission.

 

Recently, VAM Agreements have become one of the most widely used instruments in commercial investment practices, but there are different views in judicial practices on the legal validity of VAM Agreements between investors and the target company's shareholders or between investors and the target company. Lawyer Qing Miao's core view, that VAM Agreements between investors and the target company's shareholders do not violate mandatory provisions in laws and administrative regulations, was supported by Chongqing Arbitration Commission, and which to some extent helps the client saving considerable losses. This case itself has guiding significance for judicial practices.

 

This project was led by Partner QING Miao.

重庆业如公司与高锐视讯等股权转让纠纷案在重庆仲裁委获得胜诉

时间:2019/07/02 阅读:4066

重庆业如股权投资基金管理有限公司(以下简称重庆业如公司)与高志平、高志寅、章建芬、浙江创亿公司、浙江创佳公司及高锐视讯签订《股权收购协议》,约定若高锐视讯未能在2018年8月31日前注入精达股份,重庆业如公司有权要求高锐视讯实际控制人高志平回购股权,高志寅、章建芬、浙江创亿公司、浙江创亿公司对高志平的回购义务承担连带担保责任。后因未能在合同约定的期限届满前注入精达股份,高志平等人拒绝履行回购义务,重庆业如公司向重庆仲裁委申请仲裁,要求高志平支付股权回购款3.72亿元,高志寅、章建芬、浙江创亿公司、浙江创亿公司承担连带责任。

本案案涉的《股权收购协议》系私募股权投资领域常见的商业模式和交易安排,也即是“对赌协议”,协议中约定高志平在一定情形下收购重庆业如公司持有目标公司高锐视讯一定的股权,这种约定是股权投资过程中为保障投资人权益的风险保障措施,是我们常说的实际控制人回购条款。青苗作为重庆业如公司委托代理律师之一,凭借其在私募股权领域丰富的诉讼和非诉经验、严谨的代理思路和犀利的辩论观点,使得本案在重庆仲裁委仲裁中获得胜诉,重庆仲裁委支持了重庆业如公司的全部仲裁请求。

在商事投资实务中,近年来,对赌协议成为了应用最广泛的工具之一,但是司法实践对投资者与目标公司股东或与目标公司本身之间对赌合法有效性认定观点不一。青苗律师在本案中的核心观点是投资者和目标公司股东之间的对赌协议系不违背法律和行政法规的强制性规定,且最终均得到了重庆仲裁委认可,为客户挽回了巨额的损失。案件本身对司法实践具有指导意义。

本项目牵头合伙人为青苗律师。